Sports Awards 2018 shortlist announced


Tuesday, 9 October, 2018

The shortlist for the Surrey Heath Sports Awards 2018 has been revealed.

The awards recognise and reward talented local athletes, coaches, volunteers, teams and clubs for their outstanding commitment and achievements in sport over the past 12 months.

Following a fantastic year of sport in Surrey Heath, dozens of nominations were received from the public for these wide-ranging awards.

These were whittled down to a shortlist in each category before the winners were selected by the Surrey Heath Sports Council.

To be eligible for the awards, you need to be a Surrey Heath resident, or play or be involved in sport in the Borough.  

Organised by Surrey Heath Borough Council, the awards celebrate the best in local sporting achievement with a special ceremony at Camberley Theatre on 15 October, where the winners will be announced.

This year’s shortlists:

Active Surrey Coach of the Year 

  • Ashley Tombs (Avalanche Inline Hockey)

  • Pedro Lemos (Foxhills Club & Resort - Golf)  

  • Claire Murray (Heatherside Social Walkers

Robin Elsdon-Dew Award for Young Volunteer of the Year 

  • Pheonix Govey-Gray (Camberley Judo Club)

  • Mikayla Dodson (Camberley Town Youth FC) 

  • Alivia Leahy (Liberty Gymnastics) 

Specsavers Young Sports Team of the Year 

  • Camberley & Farnborough U14 Boys Hockey Team 

  • Curley Park Rangers U9 Team (Football

  • Bisley & Sandown Chase Pony Club Mounted Games Junior Team (Equestrian)

Complete Coaching Young Sports Personality of the Year

  • Lillie Tombs (Avalanche Inline Hockey)

  • Victoria Usher (Rushmoor Syncronised Swimming Club)

  • Owen Heard (Camberley & District Athletic Club

National Tennis Association Sports Team of the Year 

  • Camberley Rugby Club 1st XV

  • Camberley & Farnborough Hockey Club Ladies 2nd XI 

  • Paul Hughes and Wendy Marks (Runnymede Royals Pickleball Club)

Legacy Sportswear Sports Personality of the Year 

  • Charlotte Dannatt (Camberley & District Athletic Club) 

  • Harry Dugmore (Camberley Rugby Club) 

  • Samantha Taylor (Farnham Triathlon Club)

Camberley Theatre Disability Sports Award 

  • Yasmin Somers (Harlow Athletics Club)

  • Surrey Chargers (Mixed-Ability Rugby)  

The Massage Company Sports Club of the Year

  • Fins Swimming Club 

  • Camberley Judo Club

  • Camberley Rugby Club 

Outstanding Service to Sport

  • David Noble (Lightwater Juniors Badminton Club) 

  • Gill Abraham (Camberley Cricket Club) 

  • Geraldine Carter (Camberley Lawn Tennis Club) 

  • Grant Simmons (Ravenscote Junior School)

  • Gareth Rise (Camberley Rugby Club)

Last year’s winners included rugby player Harry Dugmore as Sports Personality of the Year, Camberley & Farnborough Hockey Club Ladies 1st XI as Sports Team of the Year, and Chobham Cricket Club U11 as Young Sports Team of the Year.

All the winners in the Surrey Heath Sports Awards are automatically entered into the Surrey Sports Awards. 

Last year, two Surrey Heath winners - Bagshot Tennis Club (Club of the Year) and John Wickens (Outstanding Service to Sport - Bagshot Football Club) – went on to triumph at the county-wide event.

Special thanks to our generous sponsors: Active Surrey, Camberley Theatre, Complete Coaching, Legacy Clothing, The Massage Company, National Tennis Association, Places for People, Specsavers and Surrey Playing Fields Association.